About Journal

ISSN  2509-1743
ISSN (Print) 2509-1751.

Ikhtilaf, Journal of Critical Humanities and Social Studies is a refereed Open Access interdisciplinary publication of the Identity and Difference Research Group affiliated with Université Mohammed Ier, Oujda Morocco. Ikhtilaf is an Arabic word that means both “difference” and “differend” (french for conflict, aporia etc…) The Journal’s mission is to stress difference in thought at a time that forced (globalized) sameness is threatening to stifle creativity, innovation and intellectual freedom. Grounded in the core disciplines of the humanities, Ikhtilaf encourages interdisciplinarity and seeks to bring together humanities and social studies to stress the centrality of critical discourse in our collective response to the crucial interrogations of the twenty-first century. Focusing on North Africa, the Middle East and their relations to African, Asian and European histories, realities and trajectories, Ikhtilaf aims to apply the distinctive research methodologies and approaches developed within the disciplines of the humanities to the study of a wide range of local and regional issues that are of global and transnational significance.

Editors: Larbi Touaf, Soumia Boutkhil, Chourouq Nasri

Assistant Editors: Khaoula Ballahi, Hafid Akrout, Sara Lahbil

Editorial Advisory Board

  • Nouria Ouali (Universite Libre de Bruxelles)
  • Abdessalam Marfouk (Universite Libre de Bruxelles)
  • Ahmed Idrissi Alami (Purdue University, IN)
  • Touria Khannous (Louisiana State University)
  • Youssef Yacoubi (Seton Hall University, NJ)
  • Elhassan Herrag (Universite Mohammed Premier, Oujda)
  • Fouad Hadadi (Universite Mohammed Premier, Oujda)
  • Virginia Fusco (Universidad Carlos III Madrid, Spain)
  • Najib Mokhtari (Universite Internationale de Rabat)
  • Karima Laachir (SOAS, University of London)
  • Hassan Hakim (Universite Mohammed Premier, Oujda)
  • Karima Bouallal (Universite Mohammed Premier, FPD Nador)
  • Charles-Yves Grandjeat ( Universite de Bordeaux III, Michel de Montaigne)
  • Jamal Bahmad (Universite Mohamed V, Rabat)
  • Zakia Salim (Rutgers University, NJ)
  • Mary Vogl (Colorado Sate University, Fort Collins)
  • Mohamed Hirchi (Colorado Sate University, Fort Collins)
  • Ivo Ritzer (Bayreuth University, Germany)
  • Emy Matesan (Wesleyan University, CT)
  • Touria Nakkouch (Universite Ibn Zohr, Agadir)
  • Hassan Zrizi (Universite Hassan II, Mohamedia)